Can todays schools be fixed?

Methods and means of supporting critical thinking in education
erwer

Can todays schools be fixed?

Post by erwer » Thu Apr 13, 2006 5:25 pm

Many people believe the public school system in the United States is a complete failure. Our ranking in the world is plummeting in areas like math and science. I just watched an Oprah Winfrey show (my wife records the crap but I watched this episode). It had Bill Gates and his wife talking about it and what we could do.

As a teacher, I can also see problems. Most people just say the system sucks and the state needs to do something. Thats where we get ideas like merit pay for teachers, etc.

As someone on the inside, I have to say the problem is larger than just getting better teachers and shuffling schedules around, etc.

From what I see, the kids are definitley more difficult to teach. The bad ones are the same as always but now the majority of kids are just unmotivated. Now you can have wonderful kids but they will not put any effort into their work. We go to all sorts of training on how to deal with these problems but if they worked, it would have solved the issue. I teach 6 classes a day with about 25 in each class. I give one simple worksheet for homework to give them practice on a concept but only about 4 or 5 in each class will do it. I have employed all kind of strategies but no change. Now I have to stand at the door and not let kids pass to leave without handing me their in-class work. Otherwise they will just leave without turning it in. What they turn in is just junk. I am talking about the majority here. I have one class of pre-advanced placement kids (basically honors) that do what they are supposed to do and are wonderful and bright kids. But one class out of six just isn't good enough.

Are we doomed as a society as these kids move into the work force?
What drastic changes can be made?

DJ
Regular Poster

Post by DJ » Fri Apr 14, 2006 1:38 am