Google Chromebook

What does make the world turn?
JO 753
Has No Life
Custom Title: rezident owtsidr

Google Chromebook

Post by JO 753 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 6:32 am

I'm on wun rite now. I'm liking it already. Plugged a wireless mouse in earlier and it didnt work, so I wuz thinking it woud never work kuz its only Windowz compatible, or I'd hav to go thru sum stupid hassle installing driverz or patchez.

But no. Now its working! Fixed itself like majik.

Nice to hav a full size screen agen.

Cant find wut the font format iz tho. Krome duznt support ttf, so I need to tranzlate my fonts in order to type proper nooalf.

Wun uv their advertizing points iz that theze computerz never slow down. My sistr haz had wun since the beginning uv this yir and it still runz perfectly.

This coud be the end for Windowz. I wundr how Mac and Linux will be affected.

Poodle
Has No Life
Custom Title: Post-bloom

Re: Google Chromebook

Post by Poodle » Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:07 am

I have no personal experience of Chromebook, but I've read a few things. It may be an old complaint now, Jo, but I'd check how the machine likes working offline if I were you.

kennyc
Has No Life
Custom Title: The Dank Side of the Moon

Post by kennyc » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:39 am

I've been tempted by Chromebooks but have not bought in yet. I've tried out much of the google offerings etc. The killer for me is being able to work independently of the internet, store and back up files locally etc.

If you are heavy into word process or photography or other such computer tasks I don't think it's there yet, but if you just want to get on line store a few docs or pics or etc. then it's wonderful. Better than a tablet - which I have several versions of (Kindle, Xoom, Kindle Fire) or phone(generally too small of a screen but okay in a pinch)...
Kenny A. Chaffin
Art Gallery - Photo Gallery - Writing&Poetry - The Bleeding Edge
"Strive on with Awareness" - Siddhartha Gautama

Rob Lister
Frequent Poster